114 Specialty Food Pioneers Inducted into Hall of Fame

Jan 05, 2015
By TGR Edit Desk

SFA honors inductees at Winter Fancy Food Show

The Specialty Food Association has established a Hall of Fame to honor individuals who have been pioneers in the $88.3 billion specialty food industry.

The inaugural group of honorees includes 114 people who were pivotal in establishing the specialty food industry as far back as the 1950’s as well as visionaries who are shaping the ever-evolving specialty food industry today.

“The specialty food industry is built on the creativity and passion of individuals who have worked hard to bring top-quality food and new flavors to market. We are proud to recognize these pioneers,” said Ann Daw, Specialty Food Association president.

Inductees include retailers, distributors, importers and suppliers. The 2015 inductees will be celebrated on Jan. 11 at the Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco as part of a special event that also includes the association’s leadership awards. The event is 5 – 6:30 p.m. at Moscone Center.

2015 inductees are:

Manfred Adler, Atalanta Foods

Harold Alexander, Koppers Chocolate

David Anderson Sr., Haddon House

Harold Anderson, Haddon House

Rennie Antolini, G. B. Raffetto

Andy Balducci, Balducci's

Leo Barth, Liberty Import Corp.

Louis Barth, Liberty Import Corp.

John Beers, World Finer Foods

David Bigelow, Bigelow Tea

Eunice Bigelow, Bigelow Tea

Seymour Binstein, European Imports Ltd.

Ken Berger, Europa Foods

Ann Brody, Sutton Place Gourmet

Frank Cardullo, Cardullo's Gourmet Shop

Dan Carter, DCI Cheese

Peter Coe, Taste Unlimited

Dan Cohen, Clearbrook Farms

Bob Cooper, Chocolate Tobler American Corp.

Julian Cowan, Cowan & Fransman

Benny Curl, Byrd Cookie Company

Joel Dean, Dean & DeLuca

Giorgio DeLuca, Dean & DeLuca

Dennis Deschaine, Al Dente Pasta Co.

Vincent Dole, Dolefam Corp.

Jerry Dorf, Milwaukee Biscuit Co. Inc.

Ed Edelman, Ideal Cheese Shop

Stephen Fass, Macy’s/Bloomingdale’s

Herb Feuerstein, FIG/Source Atlantique

Mario Foah, Foah International LLC

Jean Frame, Specialty Food Association/NASFT

Edith Friedland, EFCO Imports

Rowena Fullinwider, Rowena's

Bill Greca, William A. Greca Company

Bernard Hamstra, Haram-Christensen Corp.

John Hamstra, Haram-Christensen Corp.

John Harney, Harney & Sons

Martin Isaacs, A&A Foods

Bob Jaret, Jaret International

Steven Jenkins, Fairway Markets

Larry Kaufman, Novalia

George Kalajian, Near East

Hanna Kalajian, Near East

Jerry Kehe, Kehe Foods

Jonathan King, Stonewall Kitchen

George Kinzler, Macy's

Walter Koppel, Jaret International

Ted Koryn, Liberty Imports

Morris Kushner, Reese Finer Foods

Frank Landry, Andre Prost Inc.

Kurt Lehman, Liberty Imports

Alfred Lepore, Ferrara Foods

Harry Lesser, Cresca Co. Inc.

Bill Levine, Sarabeth's Kitchen

Sarabeth Levine, Sarabeth's Kitchen

Tony Matthews, Foods from Britain

Jim McCaffrey, Iroquois Brands

Jim McGilloway, The Gilway Co. Ltd.

Tim Metzger, Tillen Farms

Klaus Mortimer, Gourmet Specialties

Hank Norton, H.G. Norton

Arnold Nussdorf, A&A Foods

Mona Onstead, Judyth's Mountain

Gene Orsenigo, Bonvego16 Ltd.

Marvin Pearlman, A1 Distributors

Christo Poulos, Christo Poulos & Co. Inc.

John Profaci, Colavita

Paul Prudhomme, Magic Seasoning Blends

Steve Reich, Charlotte Charles

Kurt Richter, A&A/Richter

Max Ries, Reese Finer Foods

John Roberts, Specialty Food Association/NASFT

Kurt Rosenberg, Arbee Fine Foods

Arnold Rosenstock, A&A Foods

Julee Rosso, Silver Palate

Harold Roth, Roth & Liebman Inc.

Herman Rowland, Sr., Jelly Belly

Joan Rubschlager, Rubschlager Baking Corp.

Paul Rubschlager, Rubschlager Baking Corp.

Myra Sable, Sable & Rosenfield

Paul Saginaw, Zingermans

Charles Sahadi, Sahadi Importing Co.

Gerry Santucci, Santucci Associates

Bruno Scheidt, Roland Foods

Fred A. Schlossberg, Castle Food Products

Bluma Schlossberg, Castle Food Products

Joel Schuman, Source Atlantique

David Shaffer, Shaffer-Clark & Co., Inc.

Joe Shannon, KeHE Foods

Mo Siegel, Celestial Seasonings

Alain Sinturel, Les Trois Petit Cochons

Bill Skura, Liberty Richter/Wasa USA

Steven Smith, Steven Smith Teamakers/Tazo/Stash Tea

George Steiner, Steiner Foods

Art Stone, Gourmet Awards

Jim Stott, Stonewall Kitchen

Ron Straci, Rao's

Sharon Straci, Rao's

Trip Straub, Straub's Market

Bud Suarez, Bud Suarez Inc.

Lynn Symon, Symon's General Store

Russ Vernon, West Point Market

Henry Wainer, Sid Wainer & Sons

James Walker, Walkers Shortbread

Leon Wechsler, Europa Foods

Ari Weinzweig, Zingermans

Chuck Williams, Williams-Sonoma

Sara Wilson, Market Hall Foods

Sara Wilson, The Snack Factory

Warren Wilson, The Snack Factory

Henry Witte, Carl Brandt Inc.

Eli Zabar, Eli Zabar

Saul Zabar, Zabar’s

Stanley Zabar, Zabar’s

The inaugural class was selected by association members and members of the Hall of Fame Committee.